Social Icons

g

Guest Post: Why Authors Like Me Love Book Blogs

Sunday, February 5, 2012
Wrecked by Elle Casey
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Release Date: January 1, 2012

If you liked The Breakfast Club and The Swiss Family Robinson, you'll love WRECKED! An ill-fated Caribbean cruise and four teenagers: a nerd, a jock, a mouse, and a beauty queen…an island, a treehouse, some nefarious interlopers…life and death…fear and loathing…love and laughter. Follow Jonathan, Kevin, Candi and Sarah as they find their typical high school lives and their worlds totally WRECKED.

Why Authors Like Me Love Book Blogs 

Hello readers. My name is Elle Casey, and I’m the indie author of three novels (working on my fourth), WRECKED and WAR OF THE FAE: BOOKS 1 AND 2. I was invited here by Vy as a guest poster. Thank you, Vy, for having me. I’m very, very happy to be here!

Today I’m going to tell you why authors like me love book blogs. First of all, I guess I have to tell you what an ‘author like me’ is. I am an independent (indie) author, meaning I self-publish my books. Just a few years ago, being self-published meant “couldn’t find a publisher who would publish the book”, but times have changed. Nowadays, especially with the advent of e-readers like Kindles and Nooks, it’s very cost-effective and technologically easy to publish a book. Many independent authors of ebooks have recently become very successful, garnering many readers and fans, even without having traditional publishing contracts. These authors could have publishers for their books but choose not to.

But how can this be? How can an independent author, who has no money for marketing, book tours, fancy displays at the local bookstore, or any of that other stuff, ever sell a book? Well, the answer is simple: Book blogs like this one.

Book bloggers are my heroes, plain and simple! Without them I’d still be writing books that sat on my hard drive for years and years, going nowhere. With book bloggers reading books and sharing their thoughts and reviews with their readers, the world is slowly hearing about these hidden treasures – independently published novels. I published WRECKED on January 2nd of this year, and over the past four weeks have been featured on just a few book blogs, and I am already seeing the effects of this amazing phenomenon. People are hearing about my book, buying it, reading it, loving it, and sharing their enthusiasm with me. I cannot express to you what an amazing feeling that is; it’s just incredible.

Book bloggers provide a valuable service to readers too. Because it’s easier to publish a book now, there are a lot of books out there that are sub par – books you wouldn’t want to waste your time reading. Maybe they’re not your style, or they have too many problems with (lack of) editing, or whatever. There’s nothing more frustrating than only having so many hours or minutes in a day for reading and to waste that precious time on a poorly written book ... not to mention wasting book budget money! A book blogger can sift through the mediocre and find the hidden gems for readers. Book bloggers save their followers both time and money.

Most book bloggers do all of this for the authors, for the readers, for the entire indie publishing industry ... for no compensation. They do it for the love of good books. My hat is off to Vy and all the other selfless book bloggers out there who have helped make so many authors’ dreams come true ... to be able to write for a living and connect with readers who love their characters and the adventures they create. And a special thanks also to the followers of these blogs. Your support means everything!

If you’d like to learn more about my novels or me, I welcome you to visit my website www.ElleCasey.com. I’d love to have you as one of my readers!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Copyright © 2015 Vy's Blog All Rights Reserved · All Logos & Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners | Template by These Paper Hearts
Subtle Patterns (Subtle Patterns) / CC BY-SA 3.0
Vy's Blog is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Back to Top